Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

To Estonia


- both film and Digital SLRs - check
- film, for that matter, - check
- loads of woollen stuff - double check
- passport - check
- ticket - OH GOD!, ahh phew - check

Tomorrow we're getting the bus down to London from Edinburgh to then go on to Tallinn. Many of us poxy St Andrews types like to take the inter-semester break as an opportunity to bugger off somewhere for a week or so. We managed to get the last two seats to Tallinn in the easyjet sales this January. A price that we couldn't pass up. But you always forget how much everything actually costs. The price you have in your head is the ticket price - "we managed to get return to Tallinn for £45" (I even sometimes catch myself rounding it down to either further impress or deny myself the truth).

You often forget the transport, the fact that we live nowhere near London, the accommodation and the necessity to eat drink beer when you're actually out there. I'm almost flat-out broke, but somehow consider it more important to go arsing around Eastern Europe than to stay put and work my way out of my over-draught.

Just today I spent a fortune on fancy socks to prepare myself for what is forecast to be -16c come Monday. Oh shit. I get the desire to make a nest for the winter when it dips below +10c. We probably won't even venture outside - I'll keep you posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.