Our New Life

By JandH

Lockdown Day 22 - The Practical Day

This morning J and I were woken abruptly by the sound of cats fighting..... and of course our fur baby Toby was involved. So at 5 o'clock, I get dressed and go out in the dark with the torch and all I can see is a shine from a reflective collar up in a tree in the neighbours garden. After calling him for what felt like a century he eventually came down and strutted across the road towards me. It was now too late to go back to bed so J and I made coffee and went outside to watch the sun come up.

J had more work to do today so I did some more studying, this time I did a little practical. My question was to use the 'stick and shadow' method of orientating yourself in the natural environment, so I went outside to the bottom of the garden, found a stick and hit it into the ground with a rock. I placed my first marker, a small stone, at the end of the shadow cast by the stick. 10 minutes later I placed another stone and again after another 10 minutes.
I can now find North without a compass.... yay!!!

This evening we ate our dinner outside, but came inside after, as the evenings are starting to get a little chilly now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.