Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

When a house becomes a home

Yesterday I saw Missus taking some bits of grass into the garden nest box, but missed getting it with my camera.  Today, upon spotting the pair in the garden, I shot out to the hide with my camera and settled in for the wait.  In fairly short order, I was rewarded with several good opportunities to get Missus with grass and other key home furnishings.  After a short time, both left and I've not seen them the rest of the day - this is pretty typical however, so I'm not worried.  How happy I will be to have several nests underway here on Lockdown Lane.  (And if you view this in large you will definitely see that it lacks sharpness - giving me incentive to keep trying!)

It's been an otherwise fairly slow day.  I made a quick run to a local store that is giving away large cotton napkins which can be made into masks.  Each customer can take five, no cost.  It was a very quick in an out; then home where I stripped off my light jacket and washed it and the napkins.  

By the time I got home, it was time to tune into Gov Cuomo's daily briefing.  I always feel a bit calmer listening to him.  Didn't particularly appreciate a certain highly placed government official tweeting about him during the conference.  Why can't that man just let someone else get some attention without having to make it all about himself?  I think he got under Cuomo's skin a bit today - who can blame him?  Over 14,000 New Yorkers have died.  It is unfathomable.  

I have been feeling quite tired today and ended up taking a nap.  I suspect it is just accumulated stress topped off by a bit of seasonal allergies.  Hubs had been dealing with some issues with his mom's insurance today - always a challenge.  Tonight he is zooming with some friends and then we are going to watch The Exotic Marigold Hotel.  Its been years since I saw it and I'm looking forward to watching it again.

All eyes are now on the Andover Subacute Long Term Care facility - it seems that they have done a terrible disservice to the very people they've been entrusted to care for.  I suspect that there will be some legal action before all is said and done.  That doesn't bring back those who are gone, however.  I am, once again, so incredibly grateful that my own parents are able to shelter at home; and that MIL is in a wonderful facility where she is being well cared for.   

Be safe, Stay home.  Be kind...

xo
Debbi

Covid19 stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1 PM today - 78,467
Deaths in NJ -  3,840

Positive cases in Sussex County - 591 -  54 deaths 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.