Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh Sweet Canada

When one is trying to learn to recognize birds by sound, it is common to use mnemonics.  Personally, I don't have a lot of luck with this particular technique...except when it comes to these lovely White Throated Sparrows with their sweet whistled song which can be described as "old Sam Peabody" or "oh sweet Canada".  In truth, one doesn't need a mnemonic to recognize their song.  But I digress.

It was wretchedly cold today, so much so that I had to put on gloves in the hide.  Add a cold drizzle to the conditions and it was downright unpleasant.  Which didn't prevent me from spending a frigid hour or so out there.  Loads of activity today including more nest building by the bluebirds (yay) and lots of singing by the sparrows who will soon be departing to head north.  

If you'd like to see a close up of Missus Bluebird, click HERE

SIL has been working on sewing masks for all of us, so that we can wash one while wearing another.  I've also got cloth masks on order so hope that we all get to a 5-day supply fairly soon.  I think masks will be in our future for quite some time.

Listened to both Cuomo and Murphy today.  The two governors have very different styles but I like them both very much and come away from their briefings feeling calmer.  New York is definitely seeing a flattening and even a slight downturn in some areas; while New Jersey is starting to flatten.  Still a long, long way from returning to any sort of "normal".  

I made the mistake last night of reading some news stories on my phone before I went to bed which seriously impacted my ability to fall asleep.  Note to self - don't do that again.  

Going to start watching the new season of Bosch tonight.  But first going to enjoy a nice dinner from SIL's employer (a large family-owned banquet facility that is now closed because of the virus but still providing free meals every so often to their staff).  Chicken Cacciatore tonight!

Stats below.  I fear that we will soon see 100,000 cases in New Jersey.  

Stay home, Stay safe.  Be kind.

xo
Debbi

Covid19 stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1 PM today - 81,420
Deaths in NJ -  4,070
Positive cases in Sussex County - 626 -  55 deaths

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.