Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Mr Mockingbird

I have just gorged myself on fat red Toyon berries and I can't lift off this branch just yet. I think I'll just sit here in the sun for awhile and let the crazy lady point her camera at me. Perhaps I'll turn my head this way...not my best side? How about this way? Oh, you don't like the rear view? Give me a moment...

These small birds are amazingly versatile in their ability to imitate just about any bird song they hear and string them all together when they are in marathon mode. They aren't parrots, so they don't imitate humans, but they certainly can drive them mad. They sound quite amusing during the day, sometimes even adding a few man made birdlike sounds such as alarms and beeps. Their charm wears off very quickly when they continue on and on into the night. This fellow was in charming mode as he sat silently resting from his gorge-fest. Besides it was 9am--no need to drive anyone crazy until he gets closer to a bedroom window and it is late at night....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.