WordSalad

By KaliBug

Mapping Art Out

First, I would like to explain my blip and then I'd like to update all of you who actually find my life interesting (for some reason). So, this is a picture of my new page in my art journal. I am not even close to done with this page but I like it the most so far. It's something I started this weekend at my women's retreat this weekend (just got home today). The actual journal itself is just a composition notebook with the first lined page glued to the inside cover and then the pages after that are glued together in groups of 3. This particular page, I ripped up pieces of road maps and glued them randomly until it covered the whole page (and in some places, hangs over the edge) then I found some artsy birdies in a magazine that I like and I did a packing tape transfer of them (instruction on how to do this are HERE) and stuck them over the yellow "cross hatch tape" (that's what I call it). I also started decorating a clipboard in the same fashion and will soon be making a long board and decorating it in the same way. Also, these are good sites if you want to start your own art journal: Art Journaling 101, and Art Journaling: Gesso. I have really gotten into this and plan on using mine in my college portfolio.

Now for the second part that nobody cares as much for, an update on my life, yaaaay! I got back from the coast today and ran to check my e-mail about the pageant.. both Katie Bean and myself got accepted!! HOORAH! Also, I'm excited to hang out with my new friend Jacob tomorrow during lunch. He's pretty cool (I met him during our Leaders Diversity Workshop at school... turns out his dad is friends with my step-dad!) *small world*. Anyways, that'll be fun. Went to my first Mexico Mission meeting of the year. SIDE NOTE: Mexico Mission is a trip through AMOR (california) that takes a group down to Mexico to build houses for families in need over spring break. I have been doing this since my freshman year and last year I brought my cousin who liked it so much she's going again this year (woop woop) *changing the world* I need about $800 by March 15th and have $700 left to go.. (wish me luck). Collectively, I have helped to build 10 houses for 10 families the past 3 years. That is pretty amazing even to me. I get so passionate about this trip. I have yet to present the families with the keys to their new houses with out crying. (Yes I know, I'm a big baby).

Mexico Mission makes me sooo grateful for what I have and for what we, as Americans, have. Every time I come home, I am grateful for a locking door and flushing toilets and showers, electricity, paved roads, up-to-standards buildings, books, education, carpet, my own room, jeez a house at all. (My freshman year there was a family of 12 living out of a 7 person van).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.