Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Looking forward

Friday was my birthday, and fair to say it was a memorable one!

What was great was the number of phone calls, texts, emails, WhatsApp and other social media messages I received for the occasion. Every time I started to do something the phone would ring or 'ping' - the post even brought some cards - and every single contact was welcome.

My cousin, who lives locally, had made a clootie dumpling and brought me round half of that in the afternoon (she left it on the doorstep and we had a brief 'socially distanced' chat) and then I spent the evening with friends, sharing a drink from the comfort of our own homes and joining each other online. All things considered it was a good day, but we are looking forward (as is everyone) to meeting up and exchanging greetings in person.

Managed to get out for a walk in the afternoon - along to Dennyloanhead, down the Drove Loan to Bonnybridge and home from there. The above photo was taken in Bonnyfield Local Nature Reserve, where it is alleged that the blackened trees are due to residue from a nearby whisky bond. I can't speak for the veracity of that allegation, but it does make for a dramatic scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.