If anything can the Easican can

but there is a knack, which I have'nt quite perfected, so I have changed my approach. I pretend I'm not really wanting to open the can, just casually moving the Easican towards the rim of the can, crossing everything in the hope that it will connect. Third time lucky! Silly, but it worked. Good job too, as I was making the rhubarb & custard cake. Mind the recipe required a 150grm pot, this tin weighed 440grm so I improvised. The recipe also required 250grm of softened butter but I was short so made the quantity up with vegetable oil. The recipe required 4 eggs. Eureka!!! I thought the ingredients required would make a large cake, too big for just the two of us so I made two cakes, one for us, one for Mum. A slice with a generous drizzle of double cream for dessert this evening went down very nicely.

An early visit to the allotment to pick up some plastic flower pots, back home, pricked out the tomato seedlings. I now have 30 tomato plants. YIKS! I think I got a bit carried away. Sowed runner, & dwarf bean seed for Josie to grow on as & when. Yesterday I made a planter with nasturtiums, salvia, & Black-eyed Susan, today I planted up another with the same combo. It was quite cool & damp in the greenhouse. I hope my plants to object too much, the forecast is better for the coming week.
I had a go at decoupage then, a rainy day project that has been on-going for a while, waiting for a rainy day, today. I used travel memorabilia from our various past adventures to cover the top of a small occasional table I liked the idea of spotting a travel ticket/guesthouse card/whatever and being transported back to that time. I was really pleased with the result, now have to wait until the glue is completely dry before varnishing. Second table has had a coat of paint ready for me to decoupage tomorrow. I've taken some labels, bus tickets etc. from our senior gap year trip diary. Stuck away in the blanket box with the photograph albums all these years.
Next, chicken liver pate. A recipe I've used for years, tweaking it with a dash of alcohol, & whatever herbs I have available. It made 3 tubs. 2 for the freezer, one for lunch tomorrow. Lastly the rhubarb & custard cake.

Thanks to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.