Theleens

By Theleens

The Canny Mans

Two major events occurred today. I sold my Yamaha XJ6 motorbike and I went to Canny Man's To meet an old friend. One might say bitter tempered with sweet. However, as much as I'll miss my motorbike, I have my eye on one in the U.S.

As for The Canny's, well, it was as elegant and decorous as it's always been. Stained classical sheet music on the ceiling; sepia lanterns; small, faithfully-polished copper tables, the surface of which reflected worn, cranky books juxtaposed with youthful brass ornaments.

I arrived, said hello to the manager Mr. M and sat down in the main bar area, with its small marble tables and red velvet benches.

Mr. M came to take my order and we chatted a while: how I'd missed coming to The Canny's but I had been away for most of 2011, how I was moving to the States but how much I'd love to come back and do a music video here. 'Perhaps when I'm rich and famous' I joked. Mr. M replied ' oh you may not need to wait until then if you speak to the right people' and smiled warmly.

After a few minutes Mr. M returned with a tall glass and placed it on the table. 'We don't have Prosecco. This is champagne and it's on the house, to wish you well in your move'. How generous!


So ladies and gentlemen, to your health.

Slainte fha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.