Thai sunset

Because I've been time travelling, today is only 18 hours long, 16 of which have been in planes or airports. At mid-day my time (6am for everyone on the plane on British time) I sneaked open a window shutter and realised we were above Afghan mountains, more massive than any French massif, snowy and empty of any sign of humans. Sadly I'd missed most of them but we then flew along parallel to the snowy Himalayas for nearly two hours with bright blue sky above and a pale blue haze below. To begin with, the snow was pale orange in the morning sun and I saw what I'm sure was K2 and (much later) what I'm less sure was Everest.

This is Bangkok airport, whose concrete and steel seems to have turned to rust in the setting sun.

Now taking advantage of the airport's free wifi as I wait for a plane to Yangon in Myanmar/Burma. I'm looking forward to bed. It's 28 hours since I was last in one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.