simisue

By simisue

Cautionary Tale

This allee of majestic trees, along the edge of this park, consists of 
Eucalyptus globules, or Blue Gum tree.  Many people who live in California assume it is a native because it is found all over the state.  Some think the smell of California is the strong medicinal scent of Eucalyptus.  Actually, it is native to Australia & Tasmania, brought here during the 1840-50 Gold Rush era,  as seeds & was grown for a variety of misguided reasons. What we see today are trees planted as wind breaks, as in this photo, along roadways, or are the remnants of the 40 million trees planted & abandoned.

This tree can grow 4-6 feet per year, topping out at 100 feet, is highly flammable,& can actually explode during a wild fire.  Its habit of continuously shedding bark compounds the problem.  It is a water guzzler and can invade water pipes, & drain wells.  For these reasons,
it is often referred to as the most hated tree in California.

When we lived in Arizona, our house had a very ugly Eucalyptus tree in front; in fact, it was the ugliest tree I had ever seen.  I wanted to cut it down, but my husband disagreed.  About a year later, we had a severe wind storm
& the tree snapped in half, so we removed it.  This tree is notorious for being difficult to remove, but nature  solved the problem for me..  

Now when I see these Blue Gum trees here in California, I do not regret cutting down that tree.  I can admire them in this park or along road ways, but they will not ignite my house or destroy my plumbing.

The moral of the story, is:  introducing foreign plants can be harmful to 
the native plants & animals of the region.  It is a cautionary tale of think
before planting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.