simisue

By simisue

Tiny Jewel

Our son is a gardener who grows heirloom tomatoes from seed & is not interested in ornamental flowers; but, for my birthday, he grew some heirloom flowers seeds for me.  I chose blue Sweet Peas, Bachelor Buttons & a unique Snapdragon.

He added this little jewel of a California Spring wildflower called
FIVE SPOT, (Nemophila Macula) a member of the Borage Family.
This plant is prized in flower gardens for its prolific, striking flowers & fernlike foliage.  It is named for its distinct small  (1 inch/2.5cm) white flowers, tipped with 5 vivid purple spots.  Those spots are not just for show.  They attract a solitary bee who helps with pollination.  

In the wild, it grows in Northern California in grasslands, foothill woodlands & pine forests; but, it is a low maintenance annual in flower beds, that tolerates a variety of soils, loves cool weather but will tolerate heat if shaded. 

 It is the very first of these birthday flowers to bloom for me, & a wonderful surprise.  The flowers only last 1 day & are so small it is easy to miss them.
During these strange STAY AT HOME days, I make a point to go out  see these little jewels.   

The next time I go hiking, I will watch for them peaking out along the shady hillsides.  Maybe I will see them among my favorite California wildflowers, the Purple Lupine, or in the shade of the Silver Bush Lupine. 

One of these days....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.