simisue

By simisue

Drastic Measures

We are in the 6th week of our STAY AT HOME protocol.  It has been
difficult, but I thought my husband & I were adapting well.  That is,
until I looked out the window & saw my husband in this photo, hitting  golf balls into this net, with our bedroom window, 20 feet behind him.  Much to my chagrin, they were real golf balls. I realized drastic measure are being taken in my house. 

Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, my husband  golfed several times per week.  With the golf courses & driving ranges now closed, he has lost his favorite activity.  He accepted this development without grumbling, but now I know he is a lot more restless than I thought. Walking the dogs & cleaning the garage just wasn't enough.  

Here in California, we were early adaptors to the STAY AT HOME order; and have recently been in the news for doing a great job at "flattening the curve.
At the same time, there is a theory that the actual positive Covid-19 cases
in Los Angeles, near us,  is more like 100,000--200,000.  

The contradiction may be confusing for some, but not for our county 
officials who have decided to open golf courses, driving ranges, all Ventura County parks, beaches, & car dealerships.  Yes, it is a strange list, but I am guessing there was some intense lobbying behind the scenes, these past weeks.

The golf net is still up, but my husband has already made a T-Time & 
accepted there will be NO CARTS, NO FLAGSTICKS, NO RAKES IN SAND TRAPS.  He promises to wear a mask, gloves & will practice social distancing to keep him safe & well.

I am guessing it will be a matter of days & he will be joining the 
"tire kickers," shopping for a new car,  his other favorite past time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.