The Leaking Pipe

Fruit box delivery wake up call at 07:35 this morning. What a lovely assortment of fresh fruit and Kentish asparagus. There’s even a pineapple, maybe I should start a piña colada cocktail hour?

At 08:50 the front door buzzer goes and it’s my landlord’s handyman. Turns out there’s water leaking from my kitchen into the neighbour’s bedroom below.

After some investigation (and the entire contents of my kitchen sink cupboard going into the empty fruit delivery box) it appears the hot tap inlet pipe is furred up with calcium. So no hot water in the kitchen today and the handyman is back tomorrow to replace the pipe.

I’ve done some research into stories I can read online and found there’s a website called freeeditorial.com where you can download books in the public domain that are out of copyright (for the year 2020 its books published pre-1925).

Unfortunately The Chronicles of Narnia was copyrighted in 1955 so I’m unable to read that. Some contemporary authors and publishers are giving permission for their works to be read however. David Walliams is one.

I came up with a list of eight classic children’s books which are currently under the vote with my Facebook friends. The books are as follows in order of current popularity:

The Secret Garden
Doctor Dolittle
The Wizard of Oz
Wind in the Willows
The Jungle Book
Black Beauty
Treasure Island
Peter Pan

Which story would get your vote?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.