Happy Flowers

Flowers and plants make me happy yet over the past week I’ve only had wilting pink roses at home as the local stores had run out of stock.

This afternoon I made a pilgrimage to Waitrose for a few essential items and whilst there bought a new orchid plant, yellow roses, purple tulips, begonia plant, parsley and basil plants.

There is something special about having fresh flowers and plants in the home and it does wonders for the psyche. In the absence of my own garden it gives me something to look after. Who doesn’t enjoy a ‘potter with the plants’?

Speaking of gardens at 715pm this evening I had a ‘date at a distance’ with my nice neighbour for wine o clock in the communal patio garden. We sat a generous 2m apart and her cat Nala joined us in her usual hoity-toity manner. Nala is a 14 yr old grey who looks just like the Sheba cat and has so many expressions.

My neighbour told me how she woke up this morning for the first time in weeks with a happy feeling and the image of her Camelia plant in her mind, which sits outside her front door, and a particular verse from the Bible.

When she returns from her daily walk the beautiful Camelia greets her. It makes her heart leap and she feels lifted. Concealed by the pervasive and poisonous Laurel hedge beside it until it was revealed six years ago, it now thrives and blooms abundantly!

She read this bible verse to me and we sat pondering for a while what it meant. She said ‘truth’ and I said ‘hope’. What do you think?

For the time is coming when everything that is covered will be revealed, and all that is secret will be made known to all.” Matthew 10:26

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.