Precious Time

“If you knew time as well as I do,” said the Hatter, “you wouldn’t talk about wasting it.” Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

I stopped at the clock shop in Lenham after my evening walk. The shop opened not long ago and I had planned (before lockdown) to visit to enquire about sourcing a missing number for my mum’s granddaughter clock. I look forward to visiting in future.

My grandad collected clocks and at one time planned to open a clock shop with my other grandad. I suspect it was a beer-fuelled idea as the plan never came off.

My grandad Peter was a larger than life character who always had a story to tell. My friend’s dad reminded me a little of grandad with his joviality, hard working attitude and frankness.

I was fond of him, partly because he reminded me so much of my grandad, and because he made me laugh from my belly the couple of times we met. Raising a glass to my friend’s dad this evening who sadly lost his fight against Covid-19 this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.