Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sheer Luck

I was up early this morning and out in the hide, all bundled up and ready for action.  I had an enjoyable hour to enjoy the birds coming to the feeders; as well as the bluebirds working on the nest.  

Later in the day I went out again, even though there was no sign of the bluebirds.  I hadn't been out but maybe 20 minutes when I heard the soft, ethereal song of the male, causing my heart to accelerate (in a good way).  The pair seemed to be having some discussion about the nest box which culminated in him stubbornly singing and flying around the nest box in the garden while she had a good look at one of the other boxes.  With my shutter fairly ablaze, I took a crazy number of blurry shots...and a couple that were quite acceptable.  I like this one the best as his face is nice and sharp and wings blurred conveying the sense of speed.  I'm quite pleased with this.  Two more flight shots on Flickr, starting HERE with the male and following with one shot of the female.  

I took time out to watch Cuomo's press briefing.  Skipping the president's briefing campaign rally.  If he actually reveals anything noteworthy it will be in the news, so I have no need to listen to 90 minutes of self-aggrandizing laced with ad-lib rages against supposed enemies.  Oy.

Hubs and I went for a drive today (yes, we're allowed) and stopped at a drive through for an "Impossible" burger which is plant based and surprisingly tasty.  We wore our masks in the drive-through and then pulled into a parking spot to eat our burgers.  Kind of like being on a date in high school.

I am finding that I am very on edge lately.  Little things irritate me.  Takes almost nothing to bring on tears.  I find I need to be in touch with friends and family a lot more than usual.  I know it is all the stress of the current situation; the not knowing how or when it might end, or what things will look like when it does.  I'm sure I am not alone in these feelings. I was telling Hubs today that I really miss the discipline of going to the gym 5 times a week; at the same time, if/when they reopen, I don't know that I will safe going.  So much is unknown.  And our numbers in the US continue to climb.  It is nearly certain that New Jersey will top 100,000 cases and probably 5,000 deaths.  It's almost beyond comprehension.

Be safe, people.  Stay home.  Be kind.

xo
Debbi

Covid19 stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1 PM today - 88,806
Deaths in NJ -  4,2377
Positive cases in Sussex County - 680 - deaths 64

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.