Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

And another thing...

I thought it would be nice to show a pair of American Goldfinches in summer wear.  The male (right) is still not completely molted but enough that you can get the idea.  He also seems to have a lot of (probably unwanted) advice for the long-suffering female.  I'll let you use your own imaginations as to what the conversation might sound like.  

I spent some nice time in the hide today, watching the bluebirds, blackbirds, cardinals and, of course, goldfinches.  At one point, there were at least 18 noisy, argumentative goldfinches - it was quite a spectacle.  See Extra for a small sampling. 

There were also a pair of brown-headed cowbirds lurking about.  When the bluebirds had left, the female cowbird was hanging off the nestbox, peering inside.  No doubt assessing whether she can sneak an egg into their nest.  Once the bluebirds start laying eggs, they will guard the nest and will chase the cowbirds away.  And, if necessary, I will intervene.  Not something I normally do but in this case...

The afternoon has been stormy so I've been inside, working on photos.  Getting ready to watch Gov Murphy's daily address.  Infections in NJ are still going up and it looks certain that we will be over 100,000 cases before the weekend. That said, we have flattened the curve; what needs to happen next is for the numbers to decline.  379 New Jersians died in the last 24 hours of Covid 19.  And in spite of this, there are some selfish idiots around the state protesting the lock down.  We are seeing this all around the country right now and it astounds me.  

Many of you left very heartfelt comments yesterday in response to my post.  Thank you.  I think it helps to know that the things we are feeling aren't unique.  I wish none of us were going through this, but I am grateful for the global support we are all able to give each other.  We aren't alone.

I forgot to mention yesterday that I received in the mail three masks that a friend of mine made for us.  There was one each for Hubs, SIL and me.  A really touching gesture, and it brought tears to my eyes.

Be safe. Stay home.  Be Kind.  

xo
Debbi

Covid19 stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1 PM today - 92,387
Deaths in NJ -  4,753
Positive cases in Sussex County - 712 - deaths 64




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.