Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lefty

It was cold and windy and distinctly un-springlike today.  Which meant that I didn't spend much time outside.  I am pleased to say that I dug up some phlox from around my patio and transplanted them to my large pollinator garden.  I probably need to relocate another half dozen phlox clumps.  Phlox is incredibly hardy and can take seemingly endless abuse without being the worse for the wear.  And it flowers prolifically, attracting all manner of pollinators.  

Bringing me to today's blip...you may remember Lefty, an adorable Carolina Wren who has a pretty significantly deformed upper bill, tilting to the left (hence the name).  He has adapted an effective way of foraging in which he tilts his head sideways so he can scoop up goodies.  He also has a mate and I imagine they've got a nest going somewhere.  Anyhoooo, as I was digging, he zipped down and foraged under a feeder about 10 feet from me.  And I couldn't resist snapping a few shots.

NY/NJ/CT are starting to design and build a significant contact tracing system which our 3 governors deem to be essential to reopening our states.  I am once again so grateful to be living in a part of the country with such strong and consistent (and science-based) leadership.  Governor Cuomo met with Trump yesterday to get agreement from the government to assist states with testing and financial help.  

I watch the states that are opening quickly, and worrying about friends who live in those states.  Most of the people I know are smart and are not going do change their behavior, no matter what their governors may say.  In at least one case, the state is still seeing a rise in cases, making me really wonder if the governor is really concerned about human life at all.  

I think it is largely up to us, the people.  We have to decide to stay home, stay safe and ...be kind.

xo
Debbi

Covid19 stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1 PM today - 95,865
Deaths in NJ -  5,063
Positive cases in Sussex County - 743 - deaths 76

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.