Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lefty (Yardbird #5)

This little Carolina Wren with a deformed beak showed up in our garden sometime last summer and has been a regular visitor since then.  Lately he's been seen in the company of a second wren, which I believe to be a female.  He was singing while she was chattering, which are common vocalizations of the two sexes.  Anyway, what's been interesting about this little bundle of cuteness is that he has adapted his eating style to accommodate his "deformity" by tilting his head and picking up food using the sides of his beak.  I find it charming and endearing.  So, he will be the fifth entry in my visual record of yard birds in 2020.

I was tentatively planning a Grand Adventure today, but the weather was bitter cold with very strong gusting winds so I decided to stay close to home.  That's okay - the GA will still happen.

I also opted to skip the gym today because I think I may have overdone a bit yesterday.  Foot was pretty sore today and more swollen than usual.  So, maybe tomorrow I will split the difference and do 1.25 miles.  

Last night on the Critter Cam ... multiple visits by the porky opossum and one long visit by the deer.  At one point, a feral cat who lives nearby walked within 10 feet of the possum with neither one reacting.  Very curious.  Of course, the opossum could handily dispense with the cat if cornered.  Or possibly just fall over, emit a stinky odor, and play dead (yes, they really do that, complete with the bad smell).  

Off to a meeting tonight.  There is a presentation on native gardening for wildlife that I am looking forward to seeing - hoping to pick up some new ideas for my own wildlife gardens.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.