Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Friendly Four

My fourth YardBird for the year is the adorable Downy Woodpecker, N. America's smallest 'pecker, measuring only about 6 inches from stem to stern.  They are also extremely tolerant of people and therefore easy to photograph.  Well, except for that sharply contrasting black and white  - that makes things slightly more challenging!  Anyway, this is a bird that I can reliably see every day of the year in my yard.  This one is a female; I will post a male to this record later.  

It is extremely windy today and much colder than yesterday so my time out doors was limited. Last night after dinner, I flipped on the back flood lights and was rather delighted to see our chubby opossum hoovering up seeds.  And during the night, the critter-cam captured the lame deer, another visit by the opossum, and two rather cute raccoons (see Extra for a still from the cam).  First sign of 'coons I've seen all winter, but I'm sure it won't be the last.  And all six turkeys were around today.

Hubs and I went to the gym where I hit my goal of 1.5 miles on the treadmill.  Still having to go at a slow pace (3 miles per hour - yuck) but a half mile longer than I've been able to do during this healing process. Tonight we are heading out to dinner with our friends who have the organic farm around the corner.  Always such great fun to spend time with them both.

Tomorrow, I am tentatively planning a little adventure.  Stay tuned...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.