Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbirds

It was a gloomy day, followed by a poor night of sleep - which ended up with a rather lengthy nap.  Feeling properly fortified after the nap and a PBJ sandwich, I sashayed (I love sashaying, don't you?) out to the hide for some zen time.

Lots of birds around today, including the leucistic/white junco.  But having just blipped that rare junco a few days ago, I opted to record this female dark-eyed junco for my 2021 Yardbirds record.  You will notice that she has a lot of colors mixed in with the dark feathers, some looking almost pinkish in tone.  I never see as many females in the winter as I do males - I recall reading somewhere that the females tend to migrate further south than the males.  Anyway, I thought this would do nicely for my blip today since she posed so nicely against a lovely clean background.  

Thanks for all you kind comments, etc for the last few days.  I've really been having fun stretching myself a bit.  As a nature photographer, I don't do a lot of major editing on my images - mostly just minor adjustments to exposure, white balance, and so on.  So, transforming images to look like something quite different than what my camera saw is an adventure - one that I'm enjoying.  Which is a long way of saying that you'll be seeing more, especially as the winter months drag out and the variety of birds remains small.

So far, things in the US have been quiet this weekend, but I do feel as though I'm holding my breath.  There have been so many warnings from FBI and other law enforcement agencies about possible violence leading up to Joe Biden's inauguration Wednesday and I guess I'm on edge. I'm happy to be living out here in the country rather than in an urban area right now.  I just hope we get through the next few weeks without any violence.  

Stay safe out there, people.  And if you find chocolate, you know what to do!  Above all, be kind.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.