Perched On A Birch

Today we paid attention to our sense of hearing; we heard a great tit, robins, a blackbird, a chiffchaff, pigeons thrashing in the holly, a moorhen, wind in the trees and branches creaking against each other, an ambulance, a forklift truck in a warehouse that looks like it's opened again, a few cars, a train, but no aeroplanes at all.

My favourite sound was the robins' song, I totally love robins, but the only photo I got was of two of them by the pond, a bit far away. Was also thrilled to actually see the great tit that we hear all the time in the garden; it was sitting high up in the lime tree. See extras. So my Blip is of a wood pigeon up in a silver birch. I do like their soothing cooing sound.

What was your favourite sound today?

Also found out, much to my surprise, that the tree sparrow that the kids were excited about yesterday is in the red conservation status, down 93% at one point. We went back to the hedge where we'd seen it, and looked for ages; just as we'd given up, Allegra spotted it on the tree above the hedge.

Gratefuls:
- finding out more about English nature, the more I know, the more I love it
- the beauty of mixed woodland, dappled in sunlight, speckled with bluebells and celandines, loud with birdsong
- Mike managing to correct the lack of a ring circuit in the upstairs electric sockets, so he can now get on with installing power points in the attic (he's been harrumphing about this for the last two days, so it's a relief)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.