WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Yes.

It's raining again. The big girl camera came out, inspired by PaulaJ blipping her Nikon the other day. I thought I'd ring the changes with a mono; colour alternative in extras.

Weird day. It was bright and sunny in the morning, a good hour of which I spent in the supermarket :: shudder :: doing a week's shopping. When I got back I sat on the terrace with a refreshing glass of home-made lemonade doing my Spanish homework. At 1 pm we went indoors for our Spanish lesson and within minutes the temperature had dropped by seven or eight degrees and it was pouring with rain.

We talked about some Gabriel García Marquez stories we'd read. I got frustrated by one of them because I had to look up so many words in the dictionary. I felt better when Bea said she'd had to use the dictionary too ... Then we had further struggles with the ubiquitous subjunctive. They were good stories though; we particularly liked the one featuring seventeen dead Englishmen (they nearly all had corpses in them).

After lunch (lentil stew from yesterday, too tired to cook!) I made some more lemonade while S patiently prepared some more loquats (they are getting overripe now and need to be used). I made two jars of jam with them. My first experience of loquats was making jam, and I was very underwhelmed, but properly ripened loquats are a revelation -- it is delicious. The orange juice and Cointreau may have helped. I only made two jars and gave one to neighbours H and M, but I'm up for making some more now. 

After that, I was sucked into The Mirror and the Light; she grabs you and takes you into her world. Meanwhile, our wood guy Marcos WhatsApped asking if we'd like more firewood, given the weather. Madness, in April. But we decided we'd help to keep him in business and buy a few sacks, since he's willing to deliver. Now, aperos on the couch (wine and patatas bravas), and then the telly beckons: episode 3 of Diarios de Cuarentena.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.