Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Oh! Hi there!!

So excited to see this little lady cardinal this morning! Many some a few one or two of you may remember seeing her a couple of years ago? I of course noticed her at the time because she had seemingly lost her crest - that nice little spike of red feathers she's supposed to have up there on the top front of her head/face. At first I assumed it would return after she finished molting, or whatever was going on. But no! I saw her regularly for a while, and it never grew back. I think I then saw her the next spring - still sans crest - but I'm pretty sure I didn't see her at all last season. I assumed she had grown a new crest. Or not made it through the winter. But this morning THERE SHE WAS! STILL BALD!!! I'm so very happy to see her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.