Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Bluebells

Decided to walk to Bonnybridge for my shopping today in the hope that the Scotmid there might have a better selection of items than my local one at Haggs. Naturally, I took the scenic route along the Canal (and a wee diversion through Bonnyfield Local Nature Reserve on my return).

Got a few items in the shop that I had failed to get locally (e.g. marmalade) and had a pleasant, if longer than usual, daily walk into the bargain.

Saw my first patch of bluebells of the year (main photo) and also took my first photo of a butterfly this year (in one of my extras you get two for the price of one). Not as windy as previous days, but just as sunny.

Saw two cyclists on the Canal path on the outward leg of my 40-minute journey to Bonnybridge (plus eight walkers, four dogs and one jogger), and twenty-two cyclists (fourteen, three, two in the other categories, plus a Scottish Canals van!) on my return trip. Note to self: shop early to avoid the crowds!

Love the greening of the countryside around, the flowering of the wayside plants - maybe use them for a future Blip - and the wonderful birdsong all around. At a time when spirits need lifted more than ever, it's good to be able to appreciate the joys of nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.