GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Nivene and Yaseen

I am so blessed to have Nivene in my life. We were in the same class from the ages of 13-16, when we were close friends. After we moved to separate classes, we drifted, and we hardly saw each other once we finished school, apart from bumping into one another the odd time in town.

Nivene is kind-hearted and warm and has a wicked sense of humour. Half-Irish, like myself, the other half of her is Egyptian. Two years ago, Nivene decided to move from Cork to Cairo with her beautiful son, Yaseen. I am so impressed by her bravery. Since then, she has begun working as a music and English teacher and is, no doubt, the most loved teacher in the school. Nivene has an amazing singing voice, and has already recorded a few tracks with some Egyptian musicians. She's going to be the next big thing! Earlier this year, her gorgeous younger sister, Amira, moved out to join her in Cairo and is playing a blinder working in events. Nivene has even found love in Cairo, and I hope to be able to attend her and Moe's wedding next summer!

After I moved to Gaza, I got in touch with Nivene through the ever-helpful Facebook to let her know I was in the region, as it were. She immediately invited me to visit, and I have stayed with her several times now when passing through Cairo. I would have been lost without her warm hospitality these past days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.