Toots in Solitude

By Toots

New graffiti...

...but not a clue what it says or means. And I don't intend to go there to look either. I keep strictly to this side of my moat.
I did have to go to a post office today. Necessity. 
I waited for a very goodly long time outside in the queue getting ever closer to door. After a good 10/15 minutes I decided that with all that is going on I wouldn't look too out of place bobbing around foot to foot, a little leaning and bending of the body and even a few arm stretches. I feel that wearing a mask (which I do for inside shops only) I'm possibly a little more incognito. Also, I've had lot's of practice watching the jogging, twirling, and fitness fanatics go by. So off I went on a ditzy little canter, growing bolder at the minute whilst still slowly moving along in the queue at the regulation distance (I imagine a 6 footer lying prone between myself and the person in front). Then I caught a reflection of silly self and slowed to a gradual, graceful halt.
It must have been a further 10 minutes or so and at last I knew it was my turn next to enter the isolation room that was the post office. 
"We're closed now, it's one o'clock!" said the masked shop assistant to this masked lady. If only he could have seen behind my mask, the wrinkles and lines that tell my age so descriptively, he might have had a little more heart. But fair enough, there was still quite a line following behind me in a trail. When to stop. Obviously, when the clock strikes One.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.