Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New Toys! (Day 38)

The new Apple EarPods arrived this morning! The act of opening up a new Apple product is SO exciting, and is to be savoured on each occasion. And, truth be told, I seem to have had several such occasions recently (I blame the lockdown). What absolutely perfect little beauties they are. We’ve had such fun today getting to know them.

I’ve never made use of Siri in all my years with Apple, but it’s needed for these, as you control the volume, next track and even ‘Who is this? ‘ JR kept saying ‘Please ‘ and ‘Thank you ‘  to Siri, which was quite cute, but not strictly necessary.

Having been fairly stationary for a day or too, I decided to accompany JR and Archie to the Hermitage. Besides, I wanted to try out the new pods. Having done 10,000 steps to town, I knew the distance was do-able. But the long long hill (some would call it a gentle slope) home had always put me off. But I made it! With plenty of sit-downs, mind you.

We met a local schnauzer, Angus. Apparently they’ve met before, and Archie was most unfriendly, so every time since, they’ve crossed the road to avoid each other. But today they had a sniff and got on fine, even quite playful. What’s changed? you ask. Angus has had his bits removed. Which confirms our theory about Archie’s aggression to random dogs. Not random at all - intact males - he feels threatened.

The (few) rubbish bins on the walkway are full to overflowing with poo bags. One man had a grabber thingie and seemed to be poking about in the bin. We stopped to watch him, realising what he was doing. Yes, he was removing lot of the bags into a big black bag to take away. He wasn’t a council employee, just a local doing a good deed. We watched him from afar, and then clapped and waved to him. Good man.

We had a lovely walk, sometimes steaming hot, sometimes freezing cold in the wind. (10,520 steps)

Listened to my new audio book on my new earpods when I came home, while - yes - JR went for a RUN!! (15,049 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.