Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

I Warned You ...

that there were more tulips to come, and here's the next lot.

I can't remember which varieties we planted back in early winter (too late), in the mud (too wet). They have all come up, though the stems are all shorter than I would have expected.  But I can't complain about the colours. I especially love the parrot type. These don't look as if they'll last long in the vase, but the cream ones I blipped last week are still standing up straight and not dropping any petals. They have turned  a lovely pearly white, almost translucent.

A good day today. Blue skies and chilly winds. I stitched the never-ending quilt for a bit, caught up with Blip, changed the bed-linen. Then it was time for singing via Zoom, we are getting the hang of it now, 25 signed in this morning. 

After lunch I made rhubarb and ginger conserve, then spent an hour in the garden. I'm experimenting with burning off the weeds in the worst bits. That was interesting. There are a lot of very dry beech leaves caught in amongst the nettles and creeping buttercups. For a few moments I thought the whole bed (plus hedge) was going to catch light, but it calmed down. We'll see if it works.

Then I spent an hour chatting to my friend M, 87 and happily self-isolating up on the Pennine Moors, sewing scrubs, wading out to the island in her garden pond, and keeping up a feud with her very weird and annoying neighbour. I hope I'm like her when I get to 87.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.