Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Pretty Prickly

Years ago I got some blackthorn whips and planted them in our  hedgerow which was looking a bit gappy. I never saw them again, hawthorn, wild rose and ivy filled the spaces and I forgot all about them. Today, driving downhill on the way back from our one shopping trip of the week, I spotted - well, I could hardly miss it, a cloud of pure white blossom frothing out into the road edge. And, yes, some of the blackthorn has reached flowering size and is making itself known. Hooray, I may even have some sloes in the autumn to make sloe gin.  It's good for witches' broomsticks too, should I feel the need for one of those.

Singing was good this morning, good to see folks and have a chance to catch up with them. Most are in good spirits and good health. I think singing, though it's not exactly together, is cheering us all up.

Going to the supermarket is not so much fun. I noticed today that Morrison's is doing Click and Collect, and I think we'll try that next week.

It was TM's turn to bake, so a banana loaf appeared. Afternoon tea with Douggie is in the extras. Eight weeks since my last haircut, my fingers are itching to pick up the scissors.

The shot is of the blackthorn blossom, much faffed with.  Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting AT!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.