KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Very Drippy Day

Wow, we haven't had much rain for a long time and today we had a nice, steady rain for a good part of the day. It's currently stopped for a few hours, to resume later. I went out to the garden to see how everything was faring after the good watering. I had a tough time choosing amongst the photos that I took...a drippy blip is such a forgiving thing after all. But this geranium really stands out. I didn't do anything to it except to crop it a bit and add my signature - that's the real color!

This Calliope Geranium is new to me, although I gather it's been available in the US since 2015. I have a series of hanging baskets every summer and I had great success with fuchsias until we had to cut down a big tree...then they spent the summer burning. I decided this year after much research to go with geraniums. I love the ivy geraniums, but stumbled across these which are called "interspecific" geraniums. They're a cross between the zonal upright geraniums and the trailing ivy varieties. The result is a semi-trailing, large and bright flowered plant that will fill a hanging basket. So I ordered six plants in quart pots and repotted them (after curb-side pick up) and today they enjoyed their first good rain!

Have you grown these? If you're interested, here's some more in-depth information: Supergeranium.

Hope you are all safe and well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.