One Day at a Time

I imagined clapping for the NHS at 8pm was going to be the highlight of my social week, but I was over the moon to see by chance during my morning walk to Blackford Pond, Morningside and Bruntsfield, 2 couples I miss socially.
Even conversing from 6 feet away was such a joy. Had I also been able to pop into a café for coffee, my morning might have passed as the old normal.

The thought that this social distancing and isolation could last until the end of the year for my age group is too hard to contemplate. There can’t be many more healthy years for me to look forward to, so losing one at this stage in life is cruel. The alternatives are, cabin fever or Covid19. I may yet have to chose.

While most of the country is blessed with sunshine and warmth at the moment, Edinburgh is rewarded with hazy sunshine and a coldness which deters me from removing my warm winter uniform or sitting outside. Living beside the North Sea has a distinct drawback when the winds are from the east.

Of course I couldn’t resist the blip of the Meadows with its iconic cherry trees in full bloom, but there was competition with the view of Blackford Pond , not quite a mile away which brings a little rural idyll into the centre of the city

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.