Yum!

I think it highly possible that I am cramming more effort into the allowable outdoor exercise time than I ever did during a whole day BC (before Covid). I feel I have to make the most of my outdoor time just because I can’t come and go as I please.

I try and alternate a day when I cycle with a day when I walk....... ok I broke the rules yesterday when I did both, but the cycle ride was at 6:30am before most people realised it was morning and I felt it didn’t count. Today at a more reasonable time I had a 6 mile walk round the town centre where few pedestrians venture, although there has been a big increase in car usage since the first lockdown.

All this additional energy expenditure has taken its toll on my ageing body and I had a little unexpected siesta after my lunch today as I listened to the news. If only it were as easy to fall asleep in a bed at the correct time at night as it is in the middle of a day in a chair.

It’s a pity there is a haze masking the sun today which spoils any sitting out, and the pesky wind is again straight off the North Sea. Instead I’m sitting near the window and being entertained watching the world and it’s wife go by on the other side of the railings. A man has just passed on a skateboard pulled along by huskies. You couldn’t make it up. The police if they turn up will be busy prising people off the grass and park benches. No lounging is allowed on the Meadows and most people respect that but there are some young folk who know better.

There is no cherry blossom blip today although the temptation is extreme. Rather I share with you my lunch of avocado and hard boiled egg on rice cakes.
I am now fighting the desire to have a sweet treat .............I wonder how long I can last without giving in............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.