Sunshine

I am feeling somewhat challenged on two scores. There is the small matter of my fringe which I decided was on the long side and needed trimmed. I watched a video of how to do it but when I took off my glasses to start, I then couldn’t see clearly and besides which the scissors seemed blunt. The result is a fringe that will make the hairdresser weep when finally she comes back to work.

The other challenge is one that everyone has and that is the dichotomy of staying home and possibly indoors when the weather is almost perfect , blue skies and wall to wall sunshine. Out of the NE wind it is hot enough to dispense with a coat. It seems as though nature is showing us two sides of itself, beautiful weather at the same time as a killer virus rampaging across the land.

My exercise walk this morning took me through the Grassmarket and the centre of the city, blissfully empty of people. It’s such a joy not have to avoid stravaiging tourists and their compatriots pulling cases.

The cherry trees were resplendent with their frou frou pinkness contrasting with the grey rock of the castle behind. Restoration of East Princes Street Gardens is still ongoing. Underbelly and the compliant Town Council have much to answer for. Perhaps this seismic change in our life style will mean the powers that be see rampant money making has consequences which are not worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.