Here comes the Cherry Blossom

Perhaps it wasn’t the best timing in light of what the bathroom scales indicated this morning, for furloughed Porty daughter to arrive this afternoon with a fresh delivery of her homemade fudge; hardly essential food delivery, but an essential comfort treat for me.

It’s been a beautiful day with blue skies and sunshine from the off. The rabbits were out in force on the grass outside the windows when I raIsed the blinds at 6:30 and in the distance the cherry trees glowed pink in the morning light.

My daily exercise was a walk through the deserted streets of the city centre . Perversely, it’s quieter there than over the railings in the Meadows where all the runners, joggers and dog walkers go. Of the few people I passed,two were my next door neighbours out on a similar quest of exercise with separation. We talked at distance. It all feels very strange.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.