My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Swab shop

I chased up getting covid swabbed (just in case) this morning, a conversation that went from me to my manager to a microbiologist at Shrewsbury to the Shropshire community testing team before coming back to me again.
The lady that called me seemed to find it quite amusing she'd "had a begging email about you". They squeezed me in at lunchtime.

The swabbing is being done at William Farr House near the hospital. I drove up, was asked for my name and told to drive to a registration bay. She checked my name and date of birth then went to see if the swabbing team were ready for me before ushering me into the swabbing bay. The two ladies there in their full ppe (gloves, masks, aprons, and visors) checked all my details again and handed me a tissue, "it'll make your eyes water".

#1 back of the throat; not so bad just slight gagging.
#2 nasal passage; definitely made my eye water and I wasn't even sure she'd taken it out.

It was all done pretty quickly -I didn't even get chance for a decent picture- although I don't envy them if and when the weather turns.
Just have to wait for the result to come back now.

Louisa's lockdown playlist:
Can't Take My Eyes Off You - Frankie Valli
(or actually the video of Heath Ledger in
10 Things I Hate About You)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.