It's funny how quickly one settles into a 'routine', even in these difficult and confusing circumstances. I find it important to have ways of distinguishing the days of the week. So I have two yoga classes I do on Monday and Thursday mornings. We take walks early morning on Friday, Sunday and either Tuesday or Wednesday. The other day I go to the supermarket. I go on the spinning bike three times a week - Saturday, Monday and Thursday. Lockdown literature meets at the same time on a Saturday morning each week. And so on. It gives sufficient shape to the week, and then we fit other things such as occasional meetings, zooms, skypes and whatever around that.

Today, to save you from seeing more of my miniature balcony gardening, I photographed my dinner. It was incredibly tasty. A goat's cheese salad, with beetroot (steamed and then roasted briefly with some blanched green beans), and finally tossed with tarragon, chives, lettuce and walnuts. Served with some Peter's Yard crackers that came in one of our weekend 'boxes'. The idea of my choosing to eat beetroot still comes as a bit of a shock to me. I hated it with a passion for at least 50 years. Earlier in the day, we had the Union of Genius soup that also comes in our 'box' - red pepper I think it was. We are staying well fed for the duration.

Meanwhile, I finished a second draft of the chapter, checked and revised the index for my book, and did a couple of small pieces of peer review. That kept me busy most of the day, before I did a 45 minute spinning class. The evening's entertainment was a version of a Midsummer Night's Dream which was originally streamed from Shakespeare's Globe on Quarantine Culture. We loved it. It was the second version of the Dream we found on iplayer. The other one was an "adaptation" for TV by Russell T Davies. This was doing nothing for us, so we switched it off and found the other one instead, which was, of course, much more faithful to the play. A good one for what is thought of as the Bard's birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.