A lane between houses...

I imagine it just goes down to their gardens but don’t really know. I’ve walked past hunderds of times but never really taken any notice before.

Whenever I have a blood test I spend days rehearsing my excuses for all possible dodgy results and promising myself that I’ll give up chocolate or wine or just food in general so it will be better next time. 
Today I had a telephone consultation with a GP I’d never seen before. My own GP is on long term sick leave (well over a year now) and the one I’ve been seeing in the interim is the designated care homes GP during the pandemic so I was a complete unknown to the very nice man I spoke to.
He started going through each test; kidneys fine, HbA1c excellent, cholesterol excellent. At that point he said actually everything is fine; the only one not firmly within the normal range was one of the liver functions but it was so close to normal that most people would be delighted to have that reading. 
He asked why the HbA1c had been tested and I said I was marginally type 2 diabetes. Well you’re doing fine he said. The only thing that is slightly strange is that it was higher on the day of the test but not worthy of any investigation. Well I think I can explain it. Since returning from my last holiday about 6 weeks ago I’ve been eating lots of chocolate biscuits but I was so good for the rest of the 3 months that the average was fine.  So I’ll put that right now; once I’ve eaten the remaining biscuits I’ll buy no more.
I asked whether it was OK for me to go out for daily walk in view of my immuno suppressed status and he said most certainly it is. So glad to have clarified that one. I didn’t mention that I still go shopping a couple of times a week...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.