Adieu Sweet Amaryllis

That is the title of one of the madrigals we learned many years ago, most appropriate for today as I removed the shrivelled blooms from the plant that provided, albeit briefly, a splash of colour to our ever more restricted lives.

Having heard yesterday that we may have to continue with lockdown until the end of the year I have been out of sorts today, quite weepy, at the prospect of not seeing the younger Flums, especially the Flumlet, for so long. I was mentally prepared to behave myself until June but the prolonged period is too depressing. 

 Added to which, we decided to use the services of an occasional Click and Collect at Sainsbury's, if only for a justified outing, only to find that they have no record of our status as Vulnerable and there appears to be no way of informing them of our age.

Edit: Just before I pressed 'Publish' Miss Flum popped round so we  have had a wonderful chat over the doorstep. I feel much better already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.