Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Chinese Privet

We left early this morning for a trip to the hunt camp and a long walk by the lake property where Jerry hunts sometimes.    I did check on the bird eggs we found last week in the fold up chair and the birds have hatched.  They are mostly bald yet so it must have been very recently.   I put one of the photos in the extras of them which is not great but you can see them.

As we were walking a different way to the lake I kept smelling this really great smell that I knew was not honeysuckle and thought maybe it was tea olive but I knew that wasn't possible.  I finally saw the white flowers and took a photo of them with the Picture This plant id app and it was privet.   We saw more of this along the old road so I am thinking maybe it was planted there years ago.   The smell followed us all along the walk.      A photo of the lake in the extras too as it was so gorgeous today!  

When we got back to the camp we had some lunch and then went fishing...well, Jerry fished and I went walking more as I wanted to get some miles in since it rained yesterday and I did not walk.   I went beyond his clover field and turned on an old road that is on the back of the property next to his.  No one lives there and he actually is allowed to hunt there also.  Anyway, I saw something white in the grove of trees so went over to look.   It was narcissus!!    I told him we are coming back out there to dig some of them up to bring home.   The area where they are growing is an old home site because I saw some brick foundation pieces and some old steps.   I put a photo of the flowers in the extras as well as the green grove of trees!    Everything is so green now!

I did go back to fish ( and had 3.5 miles on my walk)  but it was not a good day for female fishermen!   While I was fishing some kind of butterfly/moth landed on my finger!   He must like salty sweat!!    He is in the extras also!        

We stopped and got some takeout for supper since I surely did not feel like cooking!   A really good day, perfect weather,  forest therapy, lake therapy and no cooking!    

Since I wasn't home I did not get to look at the remainder of the Tiny Tuesday entries but I will get to them tomorrow! 
Hope everyone has a good weekend.  Be well, Blippers!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.