ANZAC Day 2020

Because of the lockdown, there were no ANZAC Services held in NZ.  We were asked to go to our letterboxes at 6 a.m. to remember those Australian and New Zealanders who perished in a variety of world wars.  I headed off, and yes, it was raining.  I was more worried about my camera getting wet than anything else.  I looked around, I was the only one out on the street that I could see.  The radio had a 20 minute programme, from 6 a.m. including the two National Anthems, the Reveille, and a talk by the Defence Minister Ron Mark.  They finished the programme with several popular Second World War songs, sung by Vera Lynn.  Very moving.

The ANZAC poppies I made yesterday, were from an old red Warehouse bag.  It was a pretty successful exercise as they didn't disintegrate in the rain.  I made one for each of my late Uncles who served overseas in the Second World War, Uncle Stuart and Uncle Hector.

Lest We Forget:  They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old, Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.  At the going down of the sun, and in the morning, We will remember them.

After breakfast I decided to walk to the War Memorial in town.  It was a total of 12,000 steps.  Extra (1) is of the War Memorial, and extra 2 of the wreaths and flowers placed on the Memorial steps.  I took my lunch with me, lucky that I did, as I stopped and talked to 6 people, all members of the walking group.  Great to catch up with them all, but quite time consuming!

The third extra is of the jigsaw update.  Time to light the fire and put my feet up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.