AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Alaskan (style?) totem pole

This totem pole looks like an authentic one, like those in Sitka National Historical Park which I visited in 2013. Prior to that I might not have noticed this one near my home, crammed into a 1.5m deep front yard, unsympathetically bolted to the ground. I don't know how it got there or why, but it looks out of place.

The extra is a collage showing three I photographed while in the Park. One photo shows the pole's base - not large in area but it stands firm.

The Tlingit people's wood carving tradition continues. These totem poles are culturally significant and this one out the front of a tiny Newtown semi makes me feel at best uncomfortable.

Thanks for hosting Admirer. Stay well and keep enjoying splendid isolation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.