AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

I won't be getting my keys cut here

According to a real estate article, this derelict locksmith's shop went to auction in July last year. The photo of the exterior in the article suggests either it didn't sell or the new owners haven't done anything with it. I'd love to go inside as the article had a shot of the cleared out interior. Would make for some great blipping.

I wish that car wasn't parked outside but it's Sunday and it's corona time. Not many people going anywhere. I've gone there the last few Sundays and it's clear I'd have to wait a month of Sundays before there are no cars in front.

The extra shows the sign A. S. Harris, Lock & Key Maker and the phone number. This part of Sydney went to eight digit phone numbers in 1996 so the shop must have been operating then. You can see how the locksmith popped off down to the hardware to get a no. 9 to put in front of the old phone number as an expedient way of updating.

Thanks for hosting Marlieske. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.