NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Stop the Presses

A few minutes ago our Queen, Beatrix of the Netherlands, surprised our country by announcing on Nationwide TV to step down from the Throne at the age of 75 after a reign of exactly 33 years to the day.

She became Queen on April 30th 1980 and will pass the Crown to her first born son Prins Willem Alexander to become our new King on April 30th this year.

I had planned another blip, but this breaking news replaces it. I hardly had the time to prepare myself. I was tipped only ten minutes before the national broadcast. This is the actual live moment that she announced it at 19:00 hrs

As I live close to the Queens Palace l'm off to see what pictures I can make tonight.
See previous pictures from november 12th & june 8th 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.