The end of the street

Well the only photo I took for the day, again at the end of the street
Today is Anzac Day, Australia and NZ Army Corp. A day when our two countries stop and remember how we fought together in the world wars. 106 years ago our soldiers landed on the beaches at Dunkirk. Today no celebrations could take place because of Covid so we were asked to stand at the end of our driveways at 6am. I was out at the road in my dressing gown all alone in the mist when I heard Amazing Grace ring out over the village the sound carrying up hill well. This was followed by the last post. It was so moving. I came inside and wrote the following piece of poetry

As I stood alone in the mist on this Anzac morning
I thought of the soldiers as a new day was dawning
The courage they showed as they fought side by side
To help in the battle to bring peace worldwide

106 years on we remember with gratitude
The sacrifices they made with amazing fortitude

We are now fighting a battle of a very different kind
It’s scary , it’s hidden and brings horror to mind
Let’s all stick together and obey all the rules
They are made for our benefit so don’t break them stay cool

A new world awaits us when we get rid of this bug
Focus on the joy of once more receiving a hug

So that was me done and dusted by 7am. This Anzac Day will go down in history for a such a different reason. It was moving watching the news on TV tonight and seeing all the people standing at Dawn the length of the country. Our PM standing with her husband and her Dad at their front gate

But I have got some staining done today on the deck but still a long way to go
Tonight I have watched the film. the Guernsey Potato Peel society. That too was very moving and had me in tears. All round an emotional day
I would normally post a pic pertaining to Anzac and miss not being able to do that

Hope you are all enjoying your weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.