atoll

By atoll

Fantastic Silver Fox

Happy, but also a tad disappointed in getting my “quote unquote, fantastic...” Silver Fox mountain bike finally out of garage moth balls and dusted-down, well-oiled and greased-up: Happy because I took it all apart and put it back together in working order, with no unaccounted-for nuts and bolts left spare on the lawn at the end as usual. Sad, because what I though was just surface dirt on the frame in need of elbow grease and chrome cleaner or T-Cut, actually turned out to be permanently tarnished paint, pitted chrome and rust. I sort of know that feeling well.

My 25-year old bike has not had a run-out for quite a few years now, and had been left languishing in the garage with all the other bits. When I first bought it, I wasn’t even a ‘Silver Fox’ at all...but grey hair soon came....and then went and waved goodbye.

Only myself and laziness to blame. At least it has finally had some much-needed TLC and we will be going for a ride together very soon. No way was I going to scrap it and buy a new one that’s for sure.

Happy to report from yesterday, my mum is still a bit bruised and battered, but now already on the mend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.