Walk up to Mill Moor earlier this morning

I set off to walk up the hill fairly earlier this morning and decided to focus on plants in flower.

The top left is Ayton Wood which is the closest woodland to where we live and the bluebells were taken in the Mill Moor woodland at the top of the hill.  I’ve never noticed the Wood Sorrell before on this walk, which I found on the edge of the path in Ayton Wood and then along the track from `Clappers’.  I wondered if both could have been deposited as part of garden rubbish as they both seems to have suspicious piles of stuff close by.  The Milk Maid (Cardamine Pratensis) was an unexpected find in this spot along the field path and it made me wonder if there are more in the field away from the footpath.  A small number of plants were up on the hillside where I usually find them, but no Orange-tip butterflies resting.  The morning was warmer than I expected and no doubt they were all on the wing.  It’s ten days since I last went to look for these flowers and at the time there was no sign of them.  So the warmth of the sun for the last week has probably helped.
There were butterflies about this morning but all were busily in flight except for a small-tortoiseshell seen as I returned home.
Butterflies:
1 Peacock
4/5 Male Orange-tip
6 or so Green-veined whites
1 speckled wood
1 Small tortoiseshell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.