A lovely day out

We had a lovely guilt free day out today.

After various jobs this morning, we all set out at just after 12 for our 'daily exercise' which today was to be a cycle ride in to Sheringham. Through the lanes from our village, we cycled via East Beckham and up to the main road, which we crossed and took ourselves straight down to Pretty Corner. The car park was closed to cars. We stopped there to have a drink and eat our lunch. We didnt use the picnic benches, although interestingly they had not been all taped off like so many have.

People have been very keen to point out we shouldn't have stopped to eat our lunch or sit down.i.e. to picnic. So next time, we will, instead, pick up fish and chips in the town, and eat them while on the move perhaps? From Pretty Corner, we cycled across to a narrow road which took us through to Upper Sheringham which was very pretty. It was a much nicer way to see our local scenery than in a car. We came out into Sheringham and cycled down to the front. We stopped to look at the sea and have another drink. So lovely, just empty. Just Sainsbury's and the chippy open. We cycled out, up to the main road and along to Cromer via West and then East Runton. Some steady hills, and yes I was at the back pretty much all the way!

Stopped again near the Blue Sky cafe and sat down on the grass to rest and have another drink. Again, noone in sight. Cycled out via the road that goes straight up to Felbrigg. A horrible long hill. I had to stop and push my bike! We usually cycle through Felbrigg as a cut through to home, but it was closed completely. So back down the main road and home via the Lions Mouth. I love this bit of woodland, so a pleasure to cycle though it, especially as it is down hill!!

Home at 3.30. Not sure if there are time limits of an hour on all exercise, but there you go, we didnt get caught and had a lovely day. My bum and legs ache now, so I won't be rushing to do it again very soon. Perhaps just to Sheringham and back next time.

Home and prepared the veg, cooked the chicken pie I made last night and enjoyed dinner in the garden sitting up at the only clear table we have!!

After dinner, I made this little clay man. I dug up some big chunks of clay when doing the garden a week or 2 ago, and thought if I could remove the mud and stones I could do something with the clay. Well, that was much easier said than done. After washing lots of soil from the clay, (& making a huge mess of my sink in the process) I was left with a grey slimy mess. It dried quite quickly though, as I sat trying to create something with it. I've left him to air dry in the potting shed. It may work, it may not, but was fun trying. A hand made clay object from my very own home grown clay!! (& yes the rest of my family think I'm mad too, it's not just you)

Ive had a lovely relaxing bath. Tomorrow it is back to normal. Well, the new normal. Want to get up earlier, go with Jon to walk the dog, then start work. I've enjoyed having a 4 day weekend, a bit too much!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.