pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Yellow

I was having a ratch through some of my gadgets and gizmos yesterday and happened across my cheap & cheerful imitation GoPro camera.

From the confines of its almost-waterproof case, it’s seen some action down the years whether its been lobbed down a water slide, strapped to a remote control car or my own bicycle when out on a ride with the children, it’s rarely let me down.

I’ve not really had the necessity nor drive to use it of late, but m’boy had spotted a dandelion growing in the large metal bath tub (purely ornamental, I’ve not gone for the white trash look just yet – although I am sure this will come via osmosis) in the back yard and noted that it had been closed up earlier in the day.

Through my limited knowledge of the natural world, I tried to explain that this was one of the many wonders of nature in that some flowers react to changes in light and temperature and open up accordingly to receive it.

To demonstrate this, I rigged up what you see here on a 5-second time lapse over 2-3 hours (who knows? Time has no meaning anymore) and through my cheap-ass camera was able to capture a grainy “video” showing the petals opening over the course of 50 seconds. Things got wild around 30 seconds when a small insect flew in and left again – I know, right?!

The lengthy process of capturing just 50 seconds (10 really after it was pared down to the interesting bit) of footage resulted in two small faces looking on with bemused interest, before saying “cool” and going on their way to booby trap the living room with pieces of Lego which they had clearly filed so as to become the sharpest object on the planet when entering the sole of your foot. 

All good fun though, it kept me out of mischief and I learned something. I don’t want to brag, but I am nailing this home schooling stuff…..wuh? I’m supposed to be schooling them?!

Oh, for f………

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.